Delightful Minutiae

Today marks the opening of “Delightful Minutiae”, currently showing in the Bagwell Media and Arts Center at Pellissippi State Community College in Knoxville, TN. This exhibit is mainly a collection of work that I have completed in the last year or so, including one brand new piece! Woot woot!!

I was able to show some of the work in a different way in this space, which was fun. The triptych panel piece “Holiness” is hanging in the middle of the space here, vs. being shown against a wall, which I think makes it much more dynamic, and it also helps to break up the gallery space.

My newest piece, “We held to each other so tightly, we became as one” is one that I think I will be adding more sections to, so it will continue to grow.

The process it takes to create each section is extremely time-consuming however. The paper I am using for this piece is Thai mulberry, which is a bit hardier than the Chinese mulberry I used for the panel pieces. The actual steps for making this piece are:

1. Print the paper with colors and a textural design. The paper starts out as a neutral unbleached white, so I print the paper first with a monotyped color flat and then add a silkscreen layer of texture.

2. Coat or wax the paper. To protect the paper and give it some added stability, I either apply a layer of matte medium and let it dry, or I saturate the paper with beeswax, ironing off the excess.

3. Form the barnacles. Each barnacle is made separately. I cut the initial flat shape I need, then fold creases to create facets, and then glue it into a 3-D form.

4. Sew the barnacles together. Each barnacle is sewn to it’s neighbors by hand, and this step is a lot like putting together a puzzle with no edges. Fun, but sometimes a bit challenging.

5. Sew beads into each junction. This was something I hadn’t initially planned on doing, but liked it so much that it is now an integral step.

6. Hem the interior open areas. This helps to make the piece feel a bit more “finished” and also gives a nice added visual texture and tactile variation.

I’m looking forward to working on more of these in the future!

I will be having a closing reception for this exhibit on February 8th, from 3-5pm. This reception is free and open to the public. I will then be deinstalling the show and driving it directly to Nashville to install in the Sarratt Gallery at Vanderbilt University. There will be another new piece making it’s debut in this show as well, which is very exciting! If you are in the area, I hope you can make it out to see one or the other of these exhibits.

2 thoughts on “Delightful Minutiae

Leave a Reply

