Gyres and Perianths

Here are some pictures from my most recent show here in Indianapolis, “Gyres and Perianths”. For those of you who did not in fact look up these words and are still curious as to their meaning, to “gyre” means to rotate or whirl, a spiral, or a vortex, and is usually spoken of in reference to ocean currents, although it is also found in Lewis Carroll’s poem “Jabberwocky.” The word “perianth” means the outer part of a flower, specifically the petals, and can also include the sepals, or leafy green parts that enclose the flower.

The best part about this show was seeing people’s responses, I was glad to see how many people enjoyed the work, and I had numerous people tell me that it made them happy. I also had hand-printed coloring sheets available for free, that most of the kids that attended the show had a blast coloring on, sitting on the floor. I started calling it the performance piece. I need to get some pictures of that too!

The outside window of Wake Press and Gallery, in Fountain Square. You can see the Lil’ Bon-Bons of Joy, individual flowers which had all sold within the first hour or so of the show being open.

“Perianth’s Twin”, this piece and the next were both mainly constructed out of paper which was hand-printed, cut, and sewn into three-dimensional shapes. They were probably the most time-consuming pieces of the entire show, but I was pleased with how they both turned out. During the show they were also lit from the interior.

“It grew and grew, and got crowded with the life of it.”

“We Held On So Tightly, We Got Stuck There”. Barnacle-like piece made out of silkscreened paper and wood. I liked working on this piece a lot because it did not involve any sewing.

Closer pic of the barnacles

“We gyre and gimble, (but not in the wabe).” This is again referring to Lewis Carroll’s poem “Jabberwocky”. Gyre meaning rotate and gimble meaning to make holes in something. After looking it up because I had no idea what it meant, I discovered that a wabe is apparently the grass plot around a sundial. You learn something new every day right?

This piece was constructed mainly out of plywood, cut into shapes, painted, and then silkscreened. Some of the pieces were also covered with clusters of little paper tubes, made out of prints.

“Shelter and Solace”. Ceiling piece, three panels of Chinese mulberry paper, silkscreened and suspended. This was probably the most fun of all the pieces, because it was so spontaneous and unplanned. I just cranked out the drawings, made the screens, and then used leftover silkscreen inks from the last few semesters until I felt happy with the amount of layers that overlapped.

I learned a lot with this body of work, and grappling with it over the past month or two has been so good for me. I’m getting a better sense of what is truly important to me in my art, and what I need to say or accomplish with it. After talking to some coworkers who are also fellow artists about this, I think I’m also beginning to see how I can refine the focus of the work and take it where it should go next.

The show will be up until August 23rd, so if you missed the opening you can still go and see it.

3 thoughts on “Gyres and Perianths

  1. Lauren,

    I’m so happy to see photos of your show! Gorgeous stuff, and colorful to boot. Learning the meaning of perianth, I’m going to include it in a poem. Just wait! Loved the panels, too. Hope you sell a bunch of pieces.

    I just got home from Santa Fe, NM, spending a week with a bunch of crazy sculptors, collage artists, oil painters, life drawing enthusiasts and writers of all kinds. It was glorious there–high desert, perfect weather and beauty in every direction. I’d love for you to attend some year. Let me know if you’re interested!

    Love, Grammy

  2. Dear Lauren,

    It was great to see your show last Friday! Love the forms and the variety of ideas within the work. Such a happy, fun show. Thank you, too, for coming to meet me! Lovely to meet you. The exhibition was a highlight of my week, and your work has given me a lot to think about. Thank you!

    Best,
    Beth Reitmeyer

  3. Lauren,

    I LOVE these pictures! Every one of them, but especially the plywood table, is like a miniature world that I wish I could get inside of! Like a little dollhouse, only far more beautiful!

    Your work never ceases to be original, with every piece and every exhibit different and unique! Yet the designs and details always remind me of you!

    I wish I could go see it and go see you, but I’m so happy for your success, even though I can’t be there to say so!

Leave a Reply

